Album Review: Frankenweenie Unleashed!

This CD arriving in my review box was such a blessing, I have seen the trailer and the movie posters and thought that it would be just the movie for me. The premise is both quite interesting and creepy and I love the imagery I have seen so I was definitely excited to wrap my ears around this soundtrack.

Let me start by saying that this is not the official soundtrack as I first believed, this is an album containing songs from the movie and songs inspired by the movie, which does help explain why all of the songs seem to fit the theme and the atmosphere I am expecting from this latest Tim Burton/Disney animated feature film.

The sound is both somber and at the same time uplifting – contradiction much, allow me to attempt a better explanation. The music is quite somber and understated to complement the colouring of the movie but lyrically it can be quite uplifting as it sings of unbreakable bonds and everlasting friendship. The music is also quite eccentric in some of the arrangements.

Frankenweenie Unleashed! brings together some well known modern acts like Neon Trees, Passion Pit, Plain White T’s and Kimbra singing about reanimated pets and many of the themes present in the original Frankenstein penned by Mary Shelley. Themes of the reanimated, in this case pet, being misunderstood and feared by the villagers.

frankenweenie unleashed

The final track is voiced by Winona Ryder who plays Elsa van Helsing in the movie and sings Praise Be New Holland, an ode to their hometown.

Pet Semetary was previously released by the Ramones in 1989 and has now been revitalised by Plain White T’s.

Karen O was approached by Burton to write a song specifically for the film and Strange Love is inspired by, and a tribute to, the era of many of the B-movie horrors that are referenced in the film. It is styled for the calypso music present in the films it pays tribute to and it is a quirky and fun track that I’m really enjoying.

Really worth a listen and I can’t wait to check out the movie.

 Track Listing

1. Strange Love – Karen O
2. Electric Heart (Stay Forever) – Neon Trees
3. Polartropic (You Don’t Understand Me – Mark Foster
4. Almost There – Passion Pit
5. Pet Sematary – Plain White T’s
6. With My Hands – Kimbra
7. Everybody’s Got a Secret  – AWOLNATION
8. Immortal – Kerli
9. My Mechanical Friend – The Flaming Lips
10. Lost Cause – Imagine Dragons
11. Underground – GROUPLOVE
12. Building a Monster – Skylar Grey
13. Witchcraft – Robert Smith
14. Praise Be New Holland – Winona Ryder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *