Album Review: The Origin of Love – Mika

The Origin of Love is British singer song-writer Mika’s third studio album, a definite pop offering but one that is more grown-up with much more serious lyrics. Having said that there are a couple of tracks that made me laugh every time, perhaps not completely appropriately but I couldn’t help it.

Mika has worked with many big names on this album, including Greg Wells, Dan Wilson, Benny Benassi and Klas Åhlund. It was largely inspired by a total change in his perspective on life after his sister was involved in a life-threatening accident. The tone is still quite happy and upbeat but if you really listen to the lyrics it’s not as upbeat as the tune would have you believe.

One of my favourites on the album would have to be Love You When I’m Drunk and it really does make me laugh out loud if it starts unexpectedly (because I like my music on shuffle). Research tells me that this was written as a direct message to someone, almost as a break up letter. I don’t know if knowing that makes me like it more or not but it is quite an amusing and catchy tune that I can’t help but sing along to.

The Origin of Love is an album that revolves around themes of love; whether it’s falling into it, out of it or trying to avoid it. The album also focuses on the different kinds of love we come across in life.

They aren’t all upbeat and boppy tracks either. Underwater is a beautiful ballad talking of love being all you need. The Origin of Love speaks of love being an addiction and compares it to chocolate and nicotine, a viewpoint many of us could agree with at times I’m sure.

Some of these tracks jump out at and take up residence in your head while there are others that are quite forgettable but overall an enjoyable listen.

Track Listing

01. Origin Of Love
02. Lola
03. Stardust
04. Make You Happy
05. Underwater
06. Overrated
07. Kids
08. Love You When I’m Drunk
09. Step With Me
10. Popular Song
11. Emily
12. Heroes
13. Celebrate
14. Make You Happy (Miami Edit)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *