Album Review: Take The Crown – Robbie Williams

Robbie Williams is back with his ninth studio album and the first for Island/Universal. This is his first solo album after the Take That reunion and a break from his career. He comes back re-energised and refreshed, ready to take on the pop world once more.

Titled ‘Take The Crown’ to publicise his willingness to fight for his place at the top of the pop world and demonstrate return to the top of his game. This is Robbie at his best, catchy and chock full of songs destined for the top of the charts.

Robbie Williams has collected many awards and made it into the Guinness Book of World Records for selling 1.6 million concert tickets in one day in 2006. He has sold over 60 million albums in his solo career and won more Brit awards than any other artist in history.

robbie williams

Take The Crown was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Jacknife Lee and the orchestra was recorded at Capitol Studios.

The album encompasses different sounds and falls a little on the safer side. It opens with a very retro sax on Be A Boy. A definite standout is the albums final track, Loser, which is an acoustic country cover with American songstress Lissie.

Whether this album will convert droves of new fans remains to be seen but I think it will be well received by existing fans of Robbie Williams.

Track Listing

01. Be A Boy
02. Gospel
03. Candy
04. Different
05. S**t On The Radio
06. All That I Want
07. Hunting For You
08. Into The Silence
09. Hey Wow Yeah Yeah
10. Not Like The Others
11. Losers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *