Paradiso – Hayley Westenra and Ennio Morricone

Paradiso is the latest album from New Zealand soprano Hayley Westenra, it is her fifth studio album and marks her 10th year in the music industry.

Throughout the past 10yrs and her musical career Hayley Westenra has been highly acclaimed and even more highly awarded. Here is an interesting piece of information I discovered on Hayley’s website:

Hayley’s debut international album PURE went straight in at No.8 in the UK pop album charts and No.1 in the Classical Charts, making her the fastest-selling debut classical artist of all time. The album turned GOLD in the UK in one week and has since hit DOUBLE PLATINUM. In December 2007 it was announced Hayley Westenra was the biggest selling Classical artist of the 21st Century.

Paradiso is an international album, released in New Zealand in April 2011, Australia on 10th June, United Kingdom  August 29, Japan June 08 and United States October 18.


It is a collaboration with Italian composer Ennio Morricone showcasing some of his best compositions as well as brand new material he has written for Hayley Westenra. Amazing English language lyrics have been written by Westenra to accompany some of Morricone’s masterpieces.

All of the vocal performances captured on this album were produced by Morricone, and he conducted each session with his own 120-piece orchestra—Sinfonietta di Roma.

Lyrics were also contributed to this album by Oscar winning lyricist Don Black and Sir Tim Rice and Marilyn and Alan Bergman.

Hayley Westenra has a beautiful and angelic voice that complements Ennio Morricone’s orchestra and masterpieces superbly. Even if you are not a lover of classical music I think you will find yourself caught up in Westenra’s voice if you give it half a chance.

Paradiso became the 85th local No. 1 album since the Official New Zealand Music Charts began in 1975. It has been certified gold in New Zealand.

This album has been composed, orchestrated and conducted by Ennio Morricone and all vocals performed by Hayley Westenra.

This young woman is a shining talent whose star will shine brightly far into the future I think, let’s hope her future albums make it out on our side of the ocean!

And all of that talent and drive continues to inspire Westenra to pursue her other endeavors – performing at sporting events, receiving many requests for duets, UNICEF ambassador and the list goes on.

Track listing

  1. Gabriel’s Oboe (Whispers In A Dream) lyrics by Hayley Westenra
  2. Cinema Paradiso: Profumo Di Limone lyrics by Ennio Morricone
  3. La Califfa lyrics by Ennio Morricone & Hayley Westenra
  4. Once Upon A Time In The West lyrics by Ennio Morricone
  5. Metti Una Sera A Cena lyrics by Ennio Morricone
  6. Cinema Paradiso: Would He Even Know Me Now? lyrics by Don Black
  7. Per Natale (L’Esprit de Noël) lyrics by Josephine Drai
  8. I Knew I Loved You (Deborah’s Theme) lyrics by Ennio Morricone, Alan Bergman & Marilyn Bergman
  9. Lezione Di Musica lyrics by Ennio Morricone
  10. Da Quel Sorriso Che Non Ride Piu lyrics by Ennio Morricone
  11. The Edge Of Love lyrics by Tim Rice
  12. Amália Por Amor lyrics by Joao Mendonca
  13. Here’s To You lyrics by Joan Baez
  14. Malena lyrics by Hayley Westenra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *