Melbourne Music Bank Finalists Announced

Submissions opened in July for Victorian musicians to enter the community-driven music initiative Melbourne Music Bank with their original Melbourne inspired song. Hundreds of submissions inundated the Bank of Melbourne and the 12 finalists have been announced. The stage is now set for the public to narrow the odds to 4 lucky semi-finalists who will perform their song at the Melbourne Recital Centre in front of the expert panel set to determine the 2014 Melbourne Music Bank winner.

The 12 finalists are Alex Brittan, Boyeur, Davies West, Heloise, Matt Walters, NY, Richard Cashion, Rick Steward, Selki, The Lion, This Public Life and Under The Arch and they span a variety of genres from instrumental and folk to pop-rock and hip-hop.

Public voting has opened and runs until Sunday October 12. You will be helping one talented Victorian hopeful get the chance at a career kick-start as well as sharing in fantastic weekly prizes for voters. The weekly prizes include Melbourne Recital Centre tickets, iTunesvouchers and tickets for a hot air balloon ride with Ella Hooper, Ambassador for Melbourne Music Bank.

Melbourne Music Bank 2014 Finalists

To learn more about the finalists, listen to their songs and cast a vote, visit

We are thrilled to celebrate Victoria’s local music talent with Melbourne Music Bank. It’s exciting to support the music community and give the winner a head start to their career,” says Bank of Melbourne Chief Executive Scott Tanner.   

The Melbourne Music Bank winner will earn themselves a fantastic prize which includes two days of recording at Sing Sing Studios, a video clip by film maker Wilk, live gigs, album artwork, 500 CDs, PR and marketing advice and the chance to have their song used in a Bank of Melbourne advertising campaign.

Cast your vote at

Melbourne Music Bank is proudly created by Bank of Melbourne, supported by partners Melbourne Recital Centre, Beat Magazine, PBS, and Wilk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *