Lioness: Hidden Treasures – Amy Winehouse

Lioness: Hidden Treasures is the first posthumous release of Amy Winehouse material since her tragic passing earlier this year. This CD is a compilation of material that has come from the thousands of hours of recorded material Amy left behind.¬† The album contains previously unreleased tracks and demos as hand chosen by Mark Ronson, Salaam Remi and Amy Winehouse’s family. This is a release that has made all involved very proud and it’s standard is right up there with the earlier Amy Winehouse releases, otheerwise it would have remained unreleased.

The first single was ‘Body and Soul’ with Tony Bennett for which she has received a posthumous Grammy nomination.

‘Our Day Will Come’ is the albums second single and Amy Winehouse’s first solo single release since 2007.

amy winehouse

Lioness: Hidden Treasures is a very soulful and touching collection, an even more emotional listen for fans knowing that there will be no new recordings. The album showcases the breadth and diversity of talent that Winehouse possessed and the depth of passion in her soul. The recordings took place before her debut album in 2002 right through to new music she was working on in 2011. This is not the release that was intended to come next but it does contain the two songs that had been completed before her tragic passing.

The CD booklet contains an in-depth message about where these tracks came from, setting the scene for the actual recording. There is also a heartfelt message from Mark Ronson, Salaam Remi and Amy’s parents and a rough track list for her now un-recorded third album.

I am not a Winehouse fan, her music is not really my style, but I can not deny her talent is a sad loss to the world and I think this recording will certainly stand the test of time. She breathes new life into old classics that I have known since my childhood in songs like ‘Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow’, ‘Valerie’ and ‘The Girl From Ipanema’ and then she also does a ripping rap featuring Nas on ‘Like Smoke’.

Whether it is a re-interpreted song or something Winehouse has written there is a depth of soul and passion apparent in the recording and I think there is something here for everyone.

‘The Girl From Ipanema’ was recorded before her debut album in 2002 by a then 18yr old Amy Winehouse and it is a fresh and enjoyable listen.

Track Listing:

01. Our Day Will Come
02. Between The Cheats
03. Tears Dry (Original Version)
04. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? (2011)
05. Like Smoke
06. Valerie (’68 Version)
07. The Girl From Ipanema
08. Half Time
09. Wake Up Alone (Original Recording)
10. Best Friends, Right?
11. Body And Soul
12. A Song For You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *