First Seed Ripening – Elixir featuring Katie Noonan

Elixir is made up of three fabulous friends and musicians – the multi-award winning, platinum selling Katie Noonan, previously of indie band George; the uniquely Australian saxophonist, composer and improviser Zac Hurren and the highly regarded jazz guitarist Stephen Magnusson.

First Seed Ripening is their first new studio album in eight years and it demonstrates that time has not diluted their magic.

Katie Noonan has delved into many genres through her musical career from pop, classical and indie through to the gentle, mature jazz contained on First Seed Ripening. Her voice carries the haunting melodies beautifully and complements the poetry of Thomas Shapcott.


This album features a string quartet from the Australian Chamber Orchestra and string charts written and arranged by Katie’s long-time collaborator and fellow Conservatorium graduate Stephen Newcomb (currently completing his PhD at Manhattan School of Music).

Elixir’s aim for this album was to create gentle, intimate music and they have certainly succeeded. First Seed Ripening is an inspired combination of folk and jazz that would make a perfect soundtrack to a romantic dinner, or an intimate gathering with friends.

I Hope I Never, the Split Enz hit, has always struck me as quite a rowdy tune – not the way that Elixir has stripped it back and recorded it with a brand new, haunting sound.

Not my usual tempo or style but the album certainly has merit and is sure to be a hit with fans of Katie Noonan, of Elixir, of Zac Hurrem, of Stephen Magnusson and of jazz. And, I think, for everyone who wants a melodic, poetic, intimate soundtrack to their evening.

Elixir is:

Katie Noonan – vocals
Stephen Magnusson – electric, steel and nylon string guitars
Zac Hurren – soprano and tenor saxophones

Track Listing

1.  First Seed Ripening
2.  My Skin is a Glove
3.  Stuff of Myths
4.  Pierrot
5.  Traditional Song
6.  Last Flowers to the Hospital
7.  Circle of Moonlight
8.  My Old Man
9.  Sleep Soundly, Peacefully
10.  Hemispheres
11.  Nocturne
12.  Last Night’s Comfort
13.  Snapshot
14.  I Hope I Never

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *