Debussy: 2 Pianos and 4 Hands – Philippe Cassard and Francois Chaplin

This CD has been a total change of style and pace for me so I have been listening for days, waiting for inspiration to strike about how to tackle this review.

I don’t really listen to a lot of classical music and I don’t know a lot about it, so I thought I would try and do some research but almost everything I could find was in French, which I did study in high school but that was quite some time ago.

This CD has been recorded to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Debussy’s birth. Philippe Cassard and Francois Chaplin are both Debussy specialists and have recorded the works for 2 pianos and 4 hands. The works contained on this disc are, for the most part, not the most recorded.

The CD booklet contains quite a bit of information, in French and also translated into English. There is information about Debussy and his piano works for four hands and well as some background and biography of the pianists.


I think lovers of Piano music, and those who appreciate Debussy would like it but I don’t really have a lot to compare it too.

These French pianists convey passion through the way their fingers caress the keys in perfect harmony.

Track Listing:

1. I. En bateau
2. II. Cortège
3. III. Menuet
4. IV. Ballet
5. I. Fête
6. II. Ballet
7. III. Rêve
8. IV. Cortège et Bacchanale
9. Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
10. Lindaraja
11. I. Avec emportement
12. II. Lent, sombre
13. III. Scherzando


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *