All Of You – Colbie Caillat

Colbie Caillat is back with her third studio album ‘All Of You’, a very feel good summer album. Full of upbeat pop tracks, all summery sunshine brightness and light. Sure to be a hit with her fans and a new generation of young people. I am pretty sure my Miss Almost Eight is going to love it.

The first single, “I Do,” debuted at number twenty-three on the Billboard Hot 100 in February and has since sold 154,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

The majority of All Of You tells of the joy and experiences of falling in love. The finding someone to share your life with and look forward to the next step, making the big decisions without fear because you know you have found that person that feels like home.

colbie caillat

Colbie Caillat has a voice that is perfectly suited to the sultry crooning of an upbeat tune accompanied by light and upbeat guitars. Not a voice that I can imagine singing of heartbreak.

‘Favourite Song’ is a duet with Common that strays from her usual sound. Common’s hip hop verses combine with Colbie’s less flowery chorus. Still quite a poppy tune but a definite different path for her sound.

‘What If’ is another track that takes a different path. The song was featured in the movie Letters to Juliet and features electric as opposed to acoustic guitars. Definitely adds an extra bit of punch to the track, probably helping it worm it’s way to sit in the back of your mind ready to start playback as soon as it goes quiet.

All in all quite an easy listening album. Nothing there to cause offense or make you wonder about whether it’s suitable for younger ears, which is sometimes an issue for me.

Track Listing

1. Brighter Than The Sun
2. I Do
3. Before I Let You Go
4. Favourite Song ft. Common
5. What If
6. Shadow
7. Think Good Thoughts
8. Like Yesterday
9. All Of You
10. Dream Life, Life
11. What Means The Most
12. Make It Rain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *