ALBUM Review: Kisses On The Bottom – Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney always brings images of The Beatles, makes me thinks of The Beatles musical stylings. That really was a mistake this time around, Kisses On The Bottom doesn’t sound anything like that era of McCartney’s career. The atmosphere of this album goes back much further than The Beatles.

This is the album McCartney has been waiting over 2 decades to make, the album that talks about the songs that inspired him – though some of These songs were new to him when work on the album started. It’s a tribute to his childhood and the music that was being played by his parents generation. Tracks that would never be the obvious choices when looking at that era. I think there is only one song on this album that I knew well and could pick immediately – and it sounded very different.

kisses on the bottom

There is very much a Jazz feel to this album, recorded at Capitol Studios with Paul McCartney behind Nat King Cole’s mic, which was intimidating even for an industry veteran, an extremely accomplished one at that.

This album is McCartney like I’ve never heard him before – but that’s not a bad thing!

Paul McCartney isn’t the only extremely well known and accomplished musician involved in this album. Grammy award winning Producer Tommy LiPuma shared McCartney’s vision and helped bring it to life, then the choice of Diana Krall and her band to perform the music with an understanding of McCartney’s restraint and feel for the music. There are also guest appearances by Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder on the two original McCartney compositions My Valentine and Only Our Hearts.

Track Listing

01. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
02. Home (When Shadows Fall)
03. It’s Only A Paper Moon
04. More I Cannot Wish You
05. The Glory Of Love
06. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)
07. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
08. My Valentine
09. Always
10. My Very Good Friend The Milkman
11. Bye Bye Blackbird
12. Get Yourself Another Fool
13. The Inch Worm
14. Only Our Hearts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *