ALBUM Review: Alfie – Alfie Boe

Alfie Boe spent years in formal opera training before deciding to spread his wings and touch a new audience, he left behind his education and took on the lead role in Baz Luhrmann’s production of La Bohème on Broadway.

This album is a demonstration of Alfie’s talents and versatility as he tackles some very different sounds and makes them his. A lot of these tracks are familiar, are songs I have grown up with, but have never heard done quite like this.

Song To The Siren features Robert Plant, the idea of which takes a lot of getting used to. The track is extremely melodic and very placid. The music definitely has a symphonic big band sound to it but the vocals are, I want to say hushed but it’s not really that, definitely anti-operatic.

alfie boe

OK, so now I’m probably making words up so allow me to explain. The bulk of the album is very booming, the vocals resound over the music, yet Song To The Siren doesn’t boom in the same way. It’s more closed in than filling the entire space with sound. (I’m going to stop now because anything I say from here will start making less sense.)

Alfie is a tenor with a beautiful voice, which has been quite well rewarded, and if you enjoy this style of music I think you will be pleased. There is no denying this man oozes talent and can do whatever he sets his mind to musically, it wasn’t really for me though. I prefer much more Bass, and less tenor but it is a CD with merit – even I can tell you that.

Track Listing:

1. Being Alive
2. Maria
3. When I Fall In Love
4. First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
5. Over the Hills
6. When You Wish Upon a Star
7. Music of the Night
8. Someone to Watch Over Me
9. Song to the Siren
10. In My Daughters Eyes
11. Empty Chairs
12. Wheels of a Dream
13. It Was a Very Good Year
14. Who Am I
15. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *